Visit Cahors

Palace
Duèze

Our 9-room hotel is located in the heart of the Palais Duèze.

The Duèze palace is a building built by the Duèze family, bourgeois of Cahors, at the beginning of the 14th century. The Duèze family is a family from Cahors, known in particular for having given a pope, Jean XXII, several cardinals and having built this palace of which there remains, seven centuries later, the very high tower classified as a historical monument since July 12, 1886.

The tower is built on a regular rectangular plan of 6 m x 7 m, in ashlar and brick. It has five floors, with a ribbed vault on the ground floor. Its height exceeds 30 meters.

Source : Wikipedia

Church
Saint-Barthélémy

Our hotel is in the immediate vicinity of the monument.

The church first bore the name of Saint-Etienne. It must have been one of the religious establishments mentioned in the testament of Saint Didier. It is from the beginning of the 14th century that the name of Saint-Barthélemy gradually imposed itself.

The oldest part of the church is a section of wall, dating from the 11th century. The church was in a bad condition in 1320, when Pope John XXII gave the impulse to rebuild it as it was the church in which he was baptized. Jeanne de Frézapa is authorized to build a chapel there in 1321. Pierre Duèze, in 1324, and his son Arnaud, in 1332, founded chapelries there. This was not enough to complete the reconstruction of the church. Part of the vaults had to be built in the first half of the 15th century. The building was classified as a historical monument in 19331.

Source : Wikipedia

Palais
Duèze

Notre hôtel de 9 chambres est situé au coeur du Palais Duèze.

Le palais Duèze est un bâtiment construit par la famille Duèze, bourgeois de Cahors, au début du xive siècle. La famille Duèze est une famille originaire de Cahors, connue notamment pour avoir donné un pape, Jean XXII, plusieurs cardinaux et avoir construit ce palais dont il subsiste, sept siècles plus tard, la très haute tour classée monument historique depuis le 12 juillet 1886.

La tour est construite sur un plan rectangulaire régulier de 6 m x 7 m, en pierre de taille et brique. Elle compte cinq étages, une voûte d’ogives se trouve au rez-de-chaussée. Sa hauteur dépasse 30 mètres.

Source : Wikipédia

Église
Saint-Barthélémy

Notre hôtel est à proximité immédiate du monument.

L’église a d’abord portée le vocable de Saint-Étienne. Elle doit faire partie des établissement religieux cités dans le testament de saint Didier. C’est à partir du début du xive siècle que le vocable de Saint-Barthélemy s’est progressivement imposé.

Un pan de mur, datable du xiie siècle, est la partie la plus ancienne de l’église. L’église est en mauvais état en 1320. Le pape Jean XXII donne l’impulsion pour la reconstruire car c’est l’église dans laquelle il a été baptisé. Jeanne de Frézapa est autorisée à y construire une chapelle en 1321. Pierre Duèze, en 1324, et son fils Arnaud, en 1332, y ont fondé des chapellenies. Cela n’a pas suffi à terminer la reconstruction de l’église. Une partie des voûtes a dû être réalisée dans la première moitié du xve siècle. L’édifice est classé au titre des monuments historiques en 19331.

Source : Wikipédia